Digital Sketch

Just a quick post of a digital sketch that I’m working on today. This is my friend Nancy holding her granddaughter, Hadlee.

I’ve always loved paintings by Mary Cassatt …  the mother and child scenes.  From the time that I was very young, I remember always wanting to be a mother with lots of children.  To me there is almost nothing greater than the love a mother has for her child.  At least that’s the way it should be. So many people aren’t lucky enough to have that kind of love from their mother.  Then they say that a grandmother’s love is even greater.  I don’t have grandchildren yet, but I do have two wonderful daughters.

A child is a treasure that unfortunately a lot of people take for granted and sometimes don’t treat them as well as they should.  Both of my daughters work in a field in which, sadly, they see that.  I’ve always cherished my daughters and have tried to give them the best life that I could.  When people look at the drawings that I do of children, my hope is that they see love and that somehow translates to the love that they have for their child.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

